Competition Winners

May 25th, 2012 § Comments Off § permalink

U14 by Elaina Berkowitz + Roland Faust 16803885

First Prize of $3500 plus internship was awarded to Elaina Berkowitz + Roland Faust for their entry “U14″, above.

Brick Oasis by Mayur Patel and Sagar Desai 54320410

Second prize of $500 was awarded to Mayur Patel + Sagar Desai for their entry “Brick Oasis”, above.
Be sure to check out all the entries in the post below!

Competition Entries

May 24th, 2012 § Comments Off § permalink

Nine entries were received. An exhibition of the entries will be on display in the meeting hall of the Presbyterian Student Center (1402 W University Ave, Burrito Brothers) beginning May 21 and ending May 31. Awards Ceremony will be held Thursday, May 24th at 2pm in the hall at the Presbyterian Student Center.

Problems with uploading?!

May 21st, 2012 § Comments Off § permalink

If anyone has problems uploading large files (such as the pdf version of your submittal) just upload the jpegs and bring the file on a CD or thumb drive.

Also, since you are all hopefully working in InDesign, check out the info in this link.

InDesign has a way of building up info in its database that creates larger than necessary files. Some of this has to do with how you use the program, some of it is the fault of InDesign. Key concept: do a “Save as” before you export.

Important Submission Information

May 19th, 2012 § Comments Off § permalink

Submission deadline is Monday the 21st at noon. Deliver boards to the site (1402 W. University Ave). Entrants are also required to submit electronically through the website (
Boards should be mounted on foam core or other similar stable base.

Boards will be on display in the meeting hall of the Presbyterian Student Center. Judging will close Wednesday evening at 6pm.

Awards Ceremony will be held Thursday the 24th at 2pm in the hall at the Presbyterian Student Center (Burrito Brothers).

Prospective list of jurors is as follows: Martin Gold, Director, School of Architecture
Lee-Su Huang, Assistant Professor, School of Architecture
John Maze, Associate Professor, Assistant Director of the Undergraduate Program, School of Architecture
Keith Crutcher, President, GREMCO and SC Ventures I LLC
S. David Selznick, SC Ventures I LLC (Mr. Selznick is a graduate of the UF Levin College of Law)
Joey Mandese, President, Mandese White Construction, General Contractor/Design-Builder
Malcolm Kiner, Project Manager for Gainesville Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA) http://www.
Anna Prizzia, Director, (or Michael Amish) UF Office of Sustainability
(not confirmed) A representative from the UF Presidents Office

Name the Project!

May 18th, 2012 § Comments Off § permalink

Competition sponsors, SC Ventures I LLC and Gainesville Real Estate Management Company, are searching for a name for the project. This is something you have had a lot of practice at. Make sure you name your entry!


May 4th, 2012 § 0 comments § permalink

MW Bender Architecture, LLC, is pleased to announce the University at 14th Design Competition, sponsored by SC Ventures I LLC, and Gainesville Real Estate Management Company, Inc. The goal of the competition is to challenge University of Florida School of Architecture students to engage with the space and activity surrounding the campus by offering the unique opportunity to design, develop, fabricate, manage and build their design under the supervision of an architect.

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing the Official News category at University at 14th Design Competition.


    Registration: May 11, 2012
    On-site meeting: May 14, 2012
    Submissions due: May 21, 2012
    Judging: May 21 thru May 23
    Winners Announced: May 24, 2012
    Gallery posted to website: May 24, 2012


    The competition is open to University of Florida School of Architecture students limited to the graduating class of 2012 and 2013 and students currently enrolled in the graduate school. Teams of 2 maximum. The competition will last one week.

    First Place | $3,000 + 2 paid internships with a total value of approximately $10,000 ($5,000 per winning team member)
    Second Place | $500

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts